Tuesday, February 27, 2024

BBC New Technology Artists introduced for 2023-25 consumption

The BBC New Technology Artists for the 2023-25 consumption have been introduced, with the line-up together with singers, pianists and chamber musicians.

The artists are: British baritone James Atkinson, Kazakh pianist Alim Beisembayev, Georgian pianist Giorgi Gigashvili, Republic of Eire mezzo-soprano Niamh O’Sullivan (pictured), Swedish soprano Johanna Wallroth, and the Chaos Quartet – whose members are from throughout Europe. Additionally a part of the brand new consumption is British pianist Michael Pandya – the second collaborative pianist welcomed on the scheme in its historical past, after Kunal Lahiry in 2021..

They be a part of the New Technology artists who’ve been on the scheme since 2022, and stay on it till December 2024: Colombian cellist Santiago Cañón-Valencia, British accordionist Ryan Corbett, British countertenor Hugh Chopping, US violinist Geneva Lewis, British jazz pianist Fergus McCreadie, South African soprano Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha, and the Leonkoro Quartet from Germany.

Launched in 1999, the New Technology Artists scheme helps younger musicians initially of their worldwide careers with efficiency alternatives in London and across the UK. These embrace solo recitals, performances with the BBC orchestras, and appearances on the BBC Proms, Cheltenham Competition, Edinburgh Worldwide Competition, London’s Wigmore Corridor, the Ulster Corridor, and Snape Maltings amongst many different venues. By broadcasts on Radio 3 these rising stars are heard by listeners everywhere in the UK, and throughout Europe by the European Broadcasting Union.

The scheme has beforehand helped launch the careers of main artists corresponding to soprano Fatma Mentioned, pianist Beatrice Rana, guitarist Sean Shibe, clarinettist and composer Mark Simpson and violinist Alina Ibragimova.

Sam Jackson, Controller BBC Radio 3 says: ‘Supporting the event of excellent younger artists as they take the primary steps of their profession is an absolute privilege for Radio 3: we witness the expansion of those performers as they seem on prestigious levels throughout the nation and past, and are listened to by tens of millions on our airwaves. I’m positive our viewers will share within the pleasure as we announce the seven New Technology Artists becoming a member of the scheme this yr – and I actually sit up for seeing how they evolve, push boundaries, and create extraordinary performances for us all to take pleasure in.’

Upcoming BBC Radio 3 broadcasts celebrating the New Technology Artists previous and current embrace: Radio 3 in Live performance from the 2023 Norfolk and Norwich Competition, that includes Geneva Lewis, Ryan Corbett, the Leonkoro Quartet and Fergus McCreadie (Tuesday 6 June, 19:30 – 22:00); a Saturday Summer time Showcase sequence of 8 programmes launched by Hannah French and that includes studio recordings by the New Technology Artists (Saturday 15 July – Saturday 2 September, 11:45am to 12:00noon); and a Lunchtime Live performance sequence of 9 recitals launched by Sara Mohr-Pietsch and that includes performances recorded at concert events and festivals throughout the UK (Monday 17 July – Monday 4 September & Sunday 20 August, 13:00 – 14:00).

Extra like this

Discover out extra about earlier musicians featured within the BBC New Technology Artists scheme right here.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles