Home Rock Music Svalbard Announce New Album ‘The Weight Of The Masks’, Share New Music “Faking It”: Hear

Svalbard Announce New Album ‘The Weight Of The Masks’, Share New Music “Faking It”: Hear

Svalbard Announce New Album ‘The Weight Of The Masks’, Share New Music “Faking It”: Hear


Metallic loves its intricately delineated subgenres, nevertheless it’s all the time cool when a band comes alongside and resolutely refuses to suit into any of them. The UK’s Svalbard are a type of bands. At instances, Svalbard sound like they belong inside the black metallic/shoegaze Venn diagram. Different instances, they sound like crust or post-hardcore. They write weak and emotional hooks, and so they all the time sound large, however they by no means let their emotions or their sheen get in the way in which of their ferocity. They stand alone.

Earlier this 12 months, Svalbard launched their single “Everlasting Spirits,” their first new observe for the reason that glorious 2020 album After I Die, Will I Get Higher? As we speak, Svalbard have introduced the upcoming launch of their new LP The Weight Of The Masks. Svalbard recorded the brand new album with longtime collaborator Lewis Johns, and it’s all about turning melancholy into aggression. As we speak, Svalbard have dropped the video for opening observe “Faking It,” which sounds great. Right here’s what bandleader Serena Cherry says concerning the observe:

“Faking It” is a tune about feeling disadvantaged of significant human connection because of melancholy appearing like a wall that shuts you off from others. It addresses the methods wherein those that endure with melancholy can really feel guilted into placing on a contented masks. The lyrics are a mirrored image on happiness as a social obligation and the way scarily good you may grow to be at deceiving everybody round you into considering that you simply’re advantageous if you’re not. With “Faking It,” we’re each acknowledging the stress for compelled positivity, the worry that individuals received’t such as you for those who’re unhappy, and in addition questioning the place the foundation of this intolerance in the direction of melancholy lies.

Under, take a look at the “Faking It” video and the tracklist for The Weight Of The Masks.

01 “Faking It”
02 “Everlasting Spirits”
03 “Defiance”
04 “November”
05 “Lights Out”
06 “How To Swim Down”
07 “Be My Tomb”
08 “Pillar In The Sand”
09 “To Wilt Beneath The Weight”

The Weight Of The Masks is out 10/6 on Nuclear Blast.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here