Home Rock Music The Drums Announce New Album ‘Jonny’, Share New Single “Higher”: Hear

The Drums Announce New Album ‘Jonny’, Share New Single “Higher”: Hear

The Drums Announce New Album ‘Jonny’, Share New Single “Higher”: Hear


To paraphrase a 50 Cent line about D’Angelo: Jonny Pierce, he decided to not fail. The boy went butt-ass for his document to promote. It’s been 4 years because the Drums, Jonny Pierce’s long-running indie-pop mission, launched Brutalism, their most up-to-date album. Prior to now few months, we’ve gotten a bunch of latest songs from the Drums: “I Need It All,” “Plastic Envelope,” “Shield Him At all times,” “Apparent.” Right this moment, Pierce proclaims that Jonny, the subsequent Drums album, is popping out this fall. On the quilt, Pierce went butt-ass.

On Jonny, Pierce reportedly will get bare in additional metaphorical methods. Per the press supplies, the album offers with “the deep-rooted childhood trauma Pierce skilled rising up in a cult-like non secular neighborhood in upstate New York.” These current Drums singles all seem on the LP. So does the brand new single “Higher,” a jangly and propulsive observe the place Pierce sings concerning the neverending battle to get out of his personal approach: “My candy little charmer / I need to provide you with all of my physique/ However my loneliness fucks me higher than you do.”

Right here’s what Pierce has to say concerning the new LP:

Once I completed Jonny, I listened to it, and I heard my soul mirrored again at me. It’s devastating and triumphant, it’s misplaced and located, it’s confused and sure, it’s smart and silly. It’s female and male, it’s onerous and mild. To encapsulate one’s entire self in an album, to honor each a part of you, even the components that really feel at odds with one another, is to make one thing deeply human, and since my faith is humanism, the album turns into a sacred place for me to worship. Every feeling a distinct pew, every music a hymn to the human coronary heart.

Under, hearken to “Higher” and take a look at the Jonny tracklist.

01 “Isolette”
02 “I’m Nonetheless Scared”
03 “Higher”
04 “Harms”
05 “Little Jonny”
06 “Plastic Envelope”
07 “Shield Him At all times”
08 “Be Mild”
09 “Dying”
10 “Inexperienced Grass”
11 “Apparent”
12 “The Flowers”
13 “Educate My Physique”
14 “Pool God”
15 “I Used To Need To Die”

Jonny is out 10/13 on Anti-.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here